Postponed: 2020 Rowena Reed Kostellow Awards

Honoring Everardo Jefferson & Billy Cotton

Thursday, March 26, 2020
6–8 PM
Knoll Showroom
1330 Avenue of the Americas


This was a difficult decision to make, but we prioritize the health, well-being, and safety of our community above all else.

We look forward to sharing a new date with you, so we can celebrate this year’s Rowena Reed Kostellow honorees and students. We’ll keep you updated as these plans develop and thank you for your continued support of the Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund. In anticipation of our annual celebration, you may make a donation at:

If you have any questions, please email


The Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund at Pratt was organized after Rowena Reed Kostellow’s death in 1988 to help continue her teachings by supporting scholarships, publishing, and programs. Kostellow, with her husband Alexander Kostellow, and Donald Dohner, created Pratt’s Industrial Design program based on abstract design applied to form, function, and industry. The educational system through analysis of abstract visual relationships is valid for all forms of expression: architecture, graphic design, and art. The program has become the foundation of many courses around the world.

The Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund is effective, so even small contributions allow us to make a tremendous impact!

Everardo Jefferson BID ’68
Everardo Jefferson BID ’68 is an architect who spent the last forty years creating modern designs that engage with the cultures and communities of New York. Jefferson studied at Pratt under Ivan Rigby, Bill Folger, and Rowena Reed. When he continued his education at the Yale School of Architecture, he took with him an understanding and attention to form, building a design philosophy centered on the experience of a place. He co-founded Caples Jefferson Architects with Sara Caples, and for over thirty years they have focused their work on public and institutional clients, committed to engaging in the needs of the community. They are currently designing new buildings for The Africa Center and the Louis Armstrong House Museum. They won the AIA NY President’s Award in 2017 and State Firm of the Year in 2012, they were named City of New York MWBE of the Year in 2009; and the Architecture League of NY dubbed them Emerging Voices back in 1998. Jefferson has taught at colleges and universities, most recently as the Louis I. Kahn Visiting Assistant Professor at Yale School of Architecture. He is a New York City Landmarks Preservation Commissioner. Check out his work:

William Cotton BID ’07
The young Rowena Award winner, William “Billy” Cotton, founded his own company while freelancing for Domino magazine just after graduation. In 2010 he launched a tableware line at Bergdorf Goodman, in 2017 was added to the AD100. In 2019 he was named Senior Vice President and Creative Director of Ralph Lauren Home. “Furniture, by its nature, is large and dense. How do you bring a dynamic nature to these large planes?” Check out his work:



The Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund makes the greatest impact with your donations. Please consider making a donation of $1,000 to make the greatest difference, $500 to show dedicated support, $100 in honor of this year’s honorees, $50 if you’re of the Pratt community, and $25 if you’re an ISDA member. Contributions of all sizes make a tremendous impact so please make your best gift when registering.

If you are unable to attend, you can make a tax-deductible contribution. Please indicate your contribution for The Rowena Reed Kostellow Fund in the comments box.